Feminism of Today and Faith from Long Ago

This really hit home for me. I’m enjoying this blog immensely so far. I’m excited to keep reading, but I really needed to stop and reblog this one. Too good not to. Kudos!

Feminists in Student Affairs

by Jodi Koslow Martin

I’ve always, for as long as I can remember, been drawn to the story of Mary the mother of Jesus. It could have been playing her in the 3rd grade Christmas play that ended with the big finale – not the birth of Christ, as you’d expect, but rather the entire class singing Bette Midler’s The Rose. Even after I took off the pillowcase sewn into a veil for my starring role, Mary and her story have stayed with me even into adulthood.

All of my favorite biblical stories involve Mary. The angel Gabriel telling her she’s going to be a mom.  “Are you kidding me?” is essentially her first response. Mary telling Jesus to fill up the wine glasses at the wedding at Cana. “Mom, it’s not time.” “Yes, it is. I’m your mother and know best.” I’m paraphrasing, of course, but her responses are…

View original post 205 more words

Leave a Reply

